I can’t help it. I feel sooo obsolete.

I just read the first blog posts of Sacha Chua and realized that she’s really waaaaaaay ahead. I admire her so much and I consider her as my benchmark for my IT career – basically because she’s my age. But, gosh. I just realized that she’s like ahead of me ten times over. I feel like I could never, ever be as good as her. Heck, this girl had her own laptop + Internet connection since college (or maybe even high school!) . Hmmm.. it just shows that the rich could really be ahead because first and foremost, they have all the resources that they need.

I graduated in college without having my own PC. I had my first PC when I was already working for more than a year and my Internet connection at home about two years ago.

Maybe I couldn’t make all these things the reasons why I couldn’t seem to use my potentials to the fullest. Or maybe I don’t have what it takes to be somebody? No, I won’t accept that. I have something and I’m capable of being somebody if I just exert all the effort and focus on what I do best that the world needs.

I still have a lot of reflecting to do about that.

About mylescxy

Disclaimer: My postings reflect my own views and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer, Accenture. I'm proud to be Filipina and a Bisaya. I am dedicated, motivated, and results-driven. I am an Aries. Bullheaded. Stubborn. I am a leader. I am a software engineer. I am a child of God. I am passionate. I care a lot. I love. I am living and loving life! :) Thanks for visiting my site. Make me happy by leaving a comment! Thanks!
This entry was posted in Emotions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I can’t help it. I feel sooo obsolete.

  1. Hi,

    Thanks for writing about Sacha. I am Sacha’s mom, and I hope I can share this story with you.

    I graduated without a laptop and without internet. We did not have them then (I graduated in 1969), and even if we (meaning the world) had them, we (meaning my family) would not have been able to afford them. But I think I still did well.

    When my husband and I were starting advertising photography, we could not afford the best or the right equipment — all we had was a second hand camera with a zoom lens — but we learned to think, feel, believe and act as if the low-end or second-hand equipment that we were using were the best. We learned to focus on what we had, instead of moaning over what we did not have. That did not stop us, however, from dreaming on getting the best or becoming the best.

    Sacha is doing well not simply because we provided her with a laptop and internet connection when she was in college. (She wasn’t the only student with her own laptop when she was in college, and she did just as well in high school when she did not have one). I am confident that Sacha did well and will continue to do well because she has learned that life is about what she does with what she has, and maybe also what she does with what she does not have.

    I just thought I’d share what I know about Sacha, in the hope that you can then allow yourself to move up as far and as fast as you want, with whatever you’ve got.

    Godspeed.

    Best regards,
    Harvey

  2. mylescxy says:

    Gosh. Thank you for leaving a comment po. I was really surprised and glad that you took the time to leave an inspirational message. :)

    Actually, I have been reading Sacha’s posts everyday for almost 2 years now. I always learn something from her everyday. That’s one of the things I look forward to because I am interested in her topics like public speaking, teaching Computer Science, photography, gardening, IT, free and open source software, and even personal relationships. Maybe the one thing we don’t have in common is her love for cats. Hehe..

    I’m one of her fans. We’re about the same age and we both studied in Phil Sci. – (Sacha in Diliman while I went to Pisay Davao). I came across her blog when I was searching about public speaking tips. :)

    I have also worked for her as a virtual assistant in ODesk. =) She gave me 2 tasks last year.

    I agree po with what you said. It’s really not about what you have but what you do with what you have. Maybe I was just a little amazed with how “advanced” Sacha is. :D But I’m really thankful that she shares her daily learnings to us, her avid readers.

    P.S. I visited your photography site. Nice pics! :)

  3. Pingback: On circumstances and somebodies » sacha chua :: enterprise 2.0 consultant, storyteller, geek

    • mylescxy says:

      Thank you sooo much Sacha. This is a great post. Inspiring…and somehow an eye-opener for me.

      I really got insecure when I read your first posts. (I checked them out last Friday, I think..after realizing that I’ve been checking out your blog almost everyday – my Yahoo first, Gmail, Facebook, then your blog). I somehow got awed that I am still learning the things that you were doing ten years ago. That’s why I said in my blog that I felt obsolete. =D

      I was really surprised when your mom left a comment on my blog and was touched that she really took time to correct my twisted idea: rich = more opportunities (lucky ones). I almost felt embarassed for being so immature. Hehe..

      But I don’t regret having written that post anyway coz I got to meet your mom (plus a new interesting blog to read) and you were able to write one of my favorite posts..

Leave a comment... :)

