Finally Found Some Answers…

Lately, I’ve been spending much time reflecting and thinking about some of life’s crucial issues. Yes, that includes my so-called love life. Close friends and family know what i mean. And equally competing with my precious time are thoughts about my career. I know I have blogged about THAT numerous times already. And here I am again, writing one of those blogs…

I’d like to share a little bit about some of the books that i’ve recently read, which have really helped me find some answers…

1. he’s just NOT THAT into you by greg behrendt and liz tuccillo
i strongly recommend this to girls who are puzzled by their guy’s “puzzling” behavior so they can just stop making those lame excuses for them. it’s a funny book. i know you’ll enjoy reading it. 😉

2. The Road Less Travelled by M. Scott Peck
this one’s an international best seller for many years. it’s a phenomenal hit.
i recommend this to anyone who seeks to better understand himself and the world around him…it will enable you to reach a higher level of self-understanding…

3. An article entitled “How To Find What You Love To Do” by Brian Kim
The article was inspired by Steve Jobs’ commencement speech at Stanford University.

You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do – Steve Jobs

And it is because of this article that I’ve finally made a decision. The confusion is over. I know what I want to do with my life…and more important, I know what I want to do TWO months from now. I am excited. But I’m scared too. Actually, I am really, really, scared. I have all the reasons to be scared. It’s going to be a whole new world for me. New place, new job, new people, new routine… Aside from that, I have to do this in a time of recession, economic crisis, and a season of laying offs in many companies worldwide. But then again, life is full of uncertainties. And I’ll never know unless I give it a try.

What’s in it for me? Simple. There are cases when money is not everything. Sometimes, it all boils down to passion. According to the article I’ve read, you have to ask yourself this question:

What would I love to do on a daily basis utilizing both my skills and interests that will add significant value to people?

Try to ask yourself the same question. It might be helpful for you, too.

Yeah, yeah, I know it’s a BIG risk. I know I have to learn a lot of things. I know I’ll face big mistakes and big fears. But I really, really, want to do this.

2 thoughts on “Finally Found Some Answers…

  1. We share the same feelings towards work, for almost three years i’ve been with STI as an Instructor i never felt this unhappy feeling, i’ve been thinking about it coz i don’t wanna compromise the learning of my students, coz i know i won’t be productive coz i started ‘falling out of love’ with my work, so i decided to resign effective this march,i want to try my luck somewhere else and be happy with it. As what in the film Bridge to Terabithia said “the best prize that life offers is the chance to work hard at work worth doing.” I wanna do something that worth my hardship coz i love doing it and i’m enjoying it.
    Way to go for us..Kudos!

    • Hi! I wonder why I’ve read your comment just now. Anyway, how was your move? I’m really happy that I took the courage to find the job that would give me joy. I’m now working for Accenture – almost 3 yrs! 🙂

Leave a comment... :)

