What on Earth am I Here for?

I recently read Bo Sachez’s blog about Fulfilling My Life Purpose. It was as usual, a well written and meaningful article. It stirred me to reflect about my life’s purpose and ponder on these two questions:

Question #1: What do you love to do?

Question #2: Where do you excel?

According to Bo, in order to discern your purpose, you have to make an inventory of your gifts and rate them from 1 to 10

So here’s mine:

  • Leadership/Organizing/Directing People – 7. I feel that this is my gift. I can safely say that I excel in this area. I know how to deal with and handle people. But I have more things to learn so it’s only a 7.
  • Writing – 7. I love to write. I even started writing novels/short stories when I was 12. I loved reading so much and I figured I could also write my own book. But those were mostly love stories and I haven’t finished those pieces.
  • Teaching – 6. I am not so sure about this rating. My teaching performance varies a lot because it’s affected by many factors such as: my interest in the subject, level of intelligence of my students, and mood of the day. Geez… But, I hear feedback from my students that I’m doing pretty well… Hmm…that’s very nice to hear and I sure hope they’re sincere about it. 🙂
  • Painting (mostly landscapes and sunsets) – 5. When I was in high school, we were required to paint using charcoal and water color. I was totally in love with it. Some people said that I was good in it but I haven’t really spent so much time with it. It’s been like 8 years since I last painted. 😦
  • Cooking – 4. I can cook and I’d love to learn more about it. It’s currently not one of my priorities though.
  • Speaking – 5. I still have a lot to learn but I’m glad I’m improving quite a lot lately.
  • Athletics – 1. Gosh. I am so poor in this area. I am a certified LAMPA. 😀
  • Interior decoration, arrangement, etc related to house keeping – 1. I know I can do better in this area and I sometimes get into the mood of cleaning and keeping things in order but that happens once in a blue moon.

After coming up with this inventory, I have realized that I really have to focus and master the skill of leadership. Unfortunately for me, my current work doesn’t give me much opportunity to hone this skill. Although this skill is also very important in the classroom environment because essentially, you have to be a good leader to your students. Hmm…

Other important insights I gained from Bo’s article are these:

  • Forget your weaknesses. Stop giving so much energy to them. Delegate.
  • Focus 80% of your attention, time, and energy in developing your strengths.
  • Focus the remaining 20% in developing your new strengths.

I will try to be a  laser rather than a flashlight.

A flashlight and a laser are both made of the same element: Light. But a laser is a thousand times more powerful than a flashlight because it’s focused light. A flashlight is pretty harmless, but a laser can cut through the thickest steel. – Bo Sanchez

Leave a comment... :)

