Dealing with a Heartbreak: Lessons Learned

If you’ve read my last post, you’ll remember that I talked about my friends’ heartaches. But then, just after 3 days, it was time – for me – to experience it too.

Again, I was not prepared (although I was already expecting it). I was caught off-guard. Lesson Number 1: No matter how much you anticipate a heartbreak, it will still hurt.

I can still remember the time when I told myself that I was willing to take the risk, and if I’ll get hurt, I’ll be OK. What matters is that I’ve experienced happiness with that person for some time. After all, life is about taking risks and learning. As the cliche goes, “It’s better to have loved and lost, than not having loved at all.”

It’s only been barely six months since I’ve experienced my second major heartbreak but here I am now, dealing with another one. Lesson Number 2: Don’t jump into another relationship right after a breakup (esp. when you’re in it primarily to forget about the last guy who’s hurt you). It’s like an anaesthesia that leaves you hurting more when it has lost its effectivity.

Anyway, I know I’ll get over this, just like the previous one. Here are my baby steps to healing:

1. Accept what happened – and the fact that he’ll be out of your life – sooner than expected.

2. Don’t be afraid to feel the pain. I am the kind of person who’s so afraid of getting hurt that when I do get hurt, I look for immediate ways to relieve myself of the pain. I panic.

3. Be patient with yourself. Because I panic when I get hurt, I just want to take a shortcut to healing. If only there was a pill I could take to take away the pain, I’d pay dearly for it. Well, because there’s no pill available, I go to my friends for comfort, hoping that I could find relief in their presence, kind words and listening ears.

4. Believe that you’ll get over it. Know that you’re not stuck in these emotions forever! Tomorrow is another day! 🙂

5. Back to Number 1 until you forget the reason why you’re havin these baby steps. Haha…

Good luck to me!

5 thoughts on “Dealing with a Heartbreak: Lessons Learned

  1. hmmm murag igo ko ani my dah! :Lesson Number 2: Don’t jump into another relationship right after a breakup (esp. when you’re in it primarily to forget about the last guy who’s hurt you)

  2. I have read the article based on the Dealing with a heartbreak.I like all steps of healing as it contain very nice information to prevent it.From this event,I feel sorrow as it was happened with my close friend.I want to know suggestion of others.

  3. Every relationship ends (save maybe one), 100% of the time. Breakup and death are absolutes with which we all must deal. For this reason, every relationship in this world must first and foremost be considered as temporary. Be grateful for whatever it is that you have in any given moment with full knowledge and acceptance that it will someday be gone (you too will someday pass). Be grateful also that the pain you feel through the loss is evidence that you have the most perfect gift ever invented. If you don’t know what that gift is, then you have some work to do.

  4. Pingback: Celebrate Love! | My Lane

  5. Pingback: Happy at Thirty! | My Lane

Leave a comment... :)

