Whew! I super love Ubuntu!

I almost fainted yesterday, when I booted my laptop and Windows immediately ran.. I was expecting a boot menu to appear onscreen because I had both Ubuntu and Windows XP on my machine. Panic started creeping in when I checked the directories of my computer and all I could see was my Windows directory.

Whew! I really hated myself for not following my instinct to create a backup first before re-installing my Windows XP. I was uber confident that I won’t do any harm to my Ubuntu partition because I will be reinstalling only on my Windows partition. I could have copied everything – my pictures taken from Manila, Ozamis, Japan, Davao, Mangagoy and GenSan, my exams (and answer keys), handouts, grades… to my external hard disk with just a click but was too lazy and confident (and stubborn) to do that.

Well, I really felt so stupid and it just hit me that I could have lost all the important files from November ’09 to January ’10. I felt like all my blood came out of my body…I was getting dizzy… racking my brains for any solution. I checked my computer again and could only see 20 GB of my hard disk, meaning, there is a possibility that Windows just didn’t recognize my Ubuntu partition…hmmm.. there was hope!!!! πŸ™‚

I rebooted again and again, but still, the boot menu wouldn’t show up. Windows kept on booting itself automatically! Grrr.. Ubuntu didn’t do that when I installed it alongside Windows..It just created a boot menu where I could choose which OS to use. Β I knew there was a workaround to the problem but I didn’t want to take all the time to research the Web. It was my first time to encounter the problem and I couldn’t wait ’til Monday to ask all my geek friends at the office how to solve it. I was afraid my insomnia would be back because of a reckless mistake!

So I took my Ubuntu installer and started to “reinstall”, crossing my fingers and praying very hard that it would detect that I already have a previously installed version of Ubuntu…and…

Voila! Yey!!! It did detect that I already have Ubuntu! Haha! So I cancelled the installation and ran Ubuntu from the CD. Through Ubuntu, I was able to see all the files I had on my hard disk – both my Ubuntu 9.10 and Windows XP files. Whew! I immediately copied all my files on my EHD. At least I learned a lot from that experience!

Ubuntu is a real life saver. Thanks!!! I don’t know if I just missed it, but I really wasn’t able to read that Windows detected that I had another OS on my machine. Well, whatever, Ubuntu has earned one vote! πŸ™‚

Just a friendly reminder…BACKUP! BACKUP! BACKUP! before you do anything stupid or critical to your PC.

2 thoughts on “Whew! I super love Ubuntu!

  1. Hi, stupid windows really sucks. windows kingdom doesn’t recognize and even tell its people that linux village exist! Wait, i just want to emphasize that the village that I am talking is turning into a city! well, live CD nowadays are a real life saver, that you don’t need to unscrew your laptop just to get the harddisk out and slave it to another computer to access it! those were the days. I have several linux distros of different taste on hand. From the lightest puppy linux, ubunto, and backtrack to name a few aside from customized live CD bootable Windows PE just in case πŸ™‚
    Yeah you’re right! Backup backup backup. No system is perfect especially when your hardware fails. That is why we need to backup user data files, if necessary backup also your whole system to an image just in case ur harddisk fails.. at least there is something you can restore later on. πŸ™‚ By the way, i use SyncBack Freeware which is a good stuff for backing up user data files. Backing up is a serious job. “Naka-relate jud ko sa imo, kay naka experience pod tungod sa akong kaTANGAhan. hehehe”.

Leave a comment... :)

