Six Years? (…and counting! :) )

June 2004 to March 2010. Has it really been six years?

I come from a family of teachers. My grandmother (mother’s mom), my mom’s siblings – 2 aunts and an uncle are all teachers. Well, my mother is a midwife and I thought, at last, the teacher’s bloodline would finally be cut off. But alas, my father became a teacher! Haha.

Anyway, so I am now a teacher. After taking up a course that I thought would be so unrelated to teaching – Information Technology, fate still found a way to me.

Hmm… maybe it was written in the stars? This is my destiny… or as Bo Sanchez would call it… my anointing. Just a year ago, I almost left the academe so I can work in the industry. But somehow, the universe conspired and made  me change my mind.

Seriously though, when I was in Japan, I was with 8 other  professors/instructors from different colleges and universities all over the Philippines. I had the privilege to talk to them and ask them about the pros and cons of teaching, and if they have any plans of going to the industry. And from those sharing of experiences, I’ve realized that I like the academe life.

This week, I especially felt successful in being an instructor when I discussed linked lists. =) I was really proud of myself for being able to introduce the topic quite well and I saw from my students’ faces that they have somehow grasped the concepts. Whew! This is a good start.

Teaching (especially subjects like Data Structures and Algorithms) is a really challenging job. =D

5 thoughts on “Six Years? (…and counting! :) )

  1. You would really be challenged if you had a student like me – I have a hard time understanding computer concepts. I am the most non-geek mother to geek daughters.;) So I thank God and the universe that there are teachers like you. God bless you!

    • 🙂

      I beg to disagree… you are actually one of the coolest techie mothers I know (um… esp. within your age range). Not so many baby boomers are into blogging and Skype ^^,

      I’m still struggling as a teacher po, even after 6 years in the university. I don’t really know anything about teaching strategies since I didn’t take any education subjects.

      By the way po, may I know what subjects you are teaching? Can you share to me some teaching strategies (or techniques)? =)

      • well, thats true too. at least u r focused and in the right track of mindset. wish many would be like u, more productive and God fearing.

Leave a comment... :)

