What’s with birthdays?

Funny how birthdays can be the extremes – happiest and saddest points in your life.

Maybe it’s because of the pressure to make the day extra special – family and friends, good food, fun and exciting memories, greetings, and gifts.

Yesterday was my birthday. With no family by my side, no good food (ate breakfast at Jollibee at 11:30 am)… It was kinda depressing. My family was so far away and I was not in the mood to celebrate with friends.

But I’m thankful that my family and friends managed to make me feel good through their greetings. I am also extra grateful to Serge and Eman for the surprise calls, Ems, te Revs, Shan and Charisse for their gifts, and to everyone who greeted me in Facebook, Friendster, and text.

Well, it was just another day and I’m thankful that I survived. Together with the SFC community, I celebrated Aisa Baroy’s debut on my birthday at Phela Grande. It was a sweet escape from the pressure of “celebrating” my birthday. Haha.

2 thoughts on “What’s with birthdays?

Leave a comment... :)

