Reunited with PHP

I am reunited with one of my passions: programming.

When I was in high school, our Comp Sci teacher gave us a project, which was to develop a simple system using C++ and Dbase4 (if I remember it right). Dianne, Chami and I chose to create a “gatepass” system for the dormitory. During that time, we really didn’t have a clear idea nor a strong foundation on system development. But the project got me up and thinking for several nights. That was the time when I decided… that I will take up a computer-related course in college.

True enough, I now hold Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Information Technology.

One could easily be confused and overwhelmed with all the programming/scripting languages available. I wrote my first Java program when I was in 2nd yr college and used it extensively until my Data Structures II class. However, during my 3rd year in college, there was much hype about web development and PHP (back then it stood for Personal Home Page). I watched how the upperclassmen created their web projects using PHP, got curious and decided to try it. Well, I liked it – and created the Room Allocation System – our group’s ticket to graduation.

I forgot all about PHP – and programming in general – when I started teaching at MSU. I got reunited with PHP only when I studied at AdDU for my Master’s degree. Again, I used PHP for my project – Speech Driven Online Learning Module for Oral Communication and several other required web projects.

And now, I conduct seminars for PHP (now stands for Hypertext Preprocessor) beginners. I love these opportunities because it rekindles my flame for PHP. ^^,         But I have realized that I haven’t grown as a PHP coder. I’ve done my research and looked around the web. And I found out that there’s been a lot of progress in PHP. There are now a number of frameworks available and I’m so excited to try them out. By the way, for those who are interested, I found a very informative and helpful site that discusses and compares the most popular PHP frameworks.

I hope that I will be able to deliver an effective seminar to the students at HTC.

Leave a comment... :)

