Reflections

If I hadn’t surrendered my plans to the Lord, I am sure I would have felt hurt and really confused by the negative comments and pressures from the people around me regarding my resignation.

I have planned to transfer to Davao to be with my family since last year. In fact, I have submitted my application to USEP as early as February this year. I didn’t want to cause inconvenience to my supervisors and administrators in MSU. I knew that I had to submit my resignation before our chairman could make the teaching load for the new semester.

When summer has almost ended and still there was no word from USEP, I prayed and surrendered my plans to the Lord. Only HE knows what’s best for me. I even wrote these petitions at the Pink Sisters’ Monastery:
1. that I will be hired by USEP and
2. that the transition from MSU to USEP would be as smooth as possible.

Yesterday, the IT program head of USEP called to tell me that he has chosen me among the applicants for the Instructor I position. I felt so happy. But when the call ended, it suddenly dawned on me that leaving MSU during this time, when classes have already started, is going to be really tough.

I know some people would never understand…

They point out that I should have tendered my resignation 30 days before, etc.. Of course, I know that policy. That is why I applied to USEP as early as February. Sad to say, that they called me just a week ago – 3 months after I submitted my application – when classes have already started. Actually, it could have been a lot easier if I didn’t have a family to support. If I had it my way, I could have tendered my resignation last May and just leave everything to faith. But I don’t have the liberty to do that. I COULDN’T just be jobless! On the other hand, I couldn’t just pass up on the opportunity to have what I have been working and praying for. Or else, I wouldn’t be able to forgive myself.

I honestly feel bad for my students. I genuinely care for them and I didn’t want to leave them hanging. I never intended to do this to them. I just pray that I could find a suitable replacement who would really take care of and teach them well .

So far, I have heard almost all kinds of comments from the people around me. Some of them really have the potential to hurt me and make me feel bad, but fortunately, I have prepared for this. Ā I trust that no matter what happens, I know, my good God is in control.šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Hi Ma’am. I don’t know if it is legal to leave a post here but I would rather express what I have to say after I have read your write up.

    I told my mom about this, the day we have known the news and she told me “sayang”. But nevertheless, we, your students, should be happy about this another beginning in your career as an IT professional.

    Just like what Celine Dion said in her song, ” goodbye’s the saddest word I’ve ever hear”. Yes, it is sad but I believe this is not the end. We don’t want to be sad because we want you to be happy. We would not want you to feel guilty about your decision. Maybe it’s the Lord’s will that has put you into this. Only He knows. So, i’d rather say “see you” and may the Lord continue to bless you as you continue to soar new heights for your career.

    God bless you Ma’am My.

    -Jude-

    • Hi Jude,

      I got really teary-eyed when I read your comment. Thank you very much for understanding my situation… It feels comforting to hear words of encouragement and support. Honestly, I was really excited to be your teacher once again. I know I will be challenged to be the best instructor that I can be ’cause most of you are really inquisitive and eager to learn. That is why, if you have noticed, “prepared-kuno” kaayo ko during the first meetings of the 3 subjects that I was supposed to handle this sem. Sigh. But maybe life’s like that. It’s full of surprises.

      See you.. and I can’t wait to see you become the successful IT experts that I envision you to be.. God bless you all. Thanks! ^^,

  2. Wow!
    Surely ma’am Mylene, God is in control… Nice to have a teacher and mentor that leaves the steering wheel of her life in the hands of the Lord. I’m blessed to have you as my teacher mam.

    And also don’t be pressure by the people around you, remember God is in control, bear in mind that you need only to please God not the people around you. Keep it up, and see you around USeP.

    God bless!

Leave a comment... :)

