2nd Monthsary: kaizen! :)

I am at a much better state now than I was a month ago, when I celebrated my first monthsary in USEP.

kaizen

I am really glad that: I feel a lot better physically (though I still have to recover from my cough.) I am now very comfortable and have gotten used to my new environment… the cubicle, the office, the 5th floor rooms, the deadly schedule and the rain! I feel that I have adjusted well to my new environment. Last month, these things were a struggle to me:

  • tricycle-jeepney-tricycle ride to and from USEP (This is the first time in my life that I have to commute to school this far. From elementary, high school, college, and MSU, I either walked or rode a tricycle to school because it was very near to my place.) Solution: acceptance and paradigm shift. I look for ways to enjoy my trip like the beautiful scenery, amusing passengers, cute kids with their bulky bags and sexy yayas… I also love passing by the 2 churches (Redemptorist and Carmellite) because I am reminded to say a little prayer. During days when I don’t have to be in school at 7am, I grab the opportunity to ride with my Tito, Mommy and April. =)
  • competition for the jeepney ride to Damosa at 8pm onwards. It’s so difficult to get a ride after my evening classes, and it used to really stress me out coz I just want to lie down and sleep after an exhausting day. Solution: be smart! walk a few meters away from the waiting “madlang people” so I could have better chances of getting a ride.
  • large number of students in my classes. I was used to having a maximum of 45 students in class so I really felt dizzy when I look at a sea of students inside my room. Solution: just get used to it or divide the class into batches (if possible).
  • preparation for my Statistics and Trigonometry class. Well, as I’ve said, this is the first time that I’ve handled these subjects and I really have to dedicate some precious time on preparing my lessons. Solution: downloaded materials from Esnips, study lessons ahead, prepare solutions to problems
  • waking up at 5:30 am and starting class at 7am. I used to wake up at 6:30 am for my 7:30am classes at MSU. It only took less than 5 minutes to get to my classroom so it really took some time for me to accept and adjust to my new schedule. Solution: get some cat naps during the day and try to go to bed as early as possible.
  • tons of papers to check. With the large number of students per class, I really have tons of papers to check every time I give assignments and quizzes.  Solution: let the students check the papers after the quiz so they’ll also know their scores immediately.

I spent most of the past 2 months adjusting to my environment and workload. It was challenging, especially because I also had to struggle financially. It feels really good now, that I have tasted the sweet fruit of my labor. Yey! =)

Other Accomplishments:

  • produced 2 IEC materials for DOST. At first I was really hesitant to accept this extra task because I’m still so busy preparing my lessons but I have to admit, I also enjoyed doing the leaflets. Though it was really mediocre and it wasn’t well thought-out. Maybe I could do a lot better next time. But at least I learned something from it.

Next month, I will:

  • submit my syllabi
  • work on the PHP project (Faculty Load and Grade-Input)
  • transfer to Sandawa
  • be through with my PRELIM(and hopefully, MIDTERM) grades in all subjects.

I’m glad that I can work on getting better – with processes, as a person, at my craft, at relationships, and in handling finances. KAIZEN!

kaizen

Leave a comment... :)

