Software Freedom Day 2010

Software Freedom Day has a special place in my heart. The first time that I organized such an event in GenSan was in 2008, with the help of my 4th year BSIT students. There were more than 700 participants during that event, coming from different colleges and universities – there were even grade school and high school students who participated. It was really a very successful event and we were chosen as one of the 6 best teams worldwide.πŸ™‚

But, this year I wasn’t able to organize or even participate in the event. There is one SFD here in Davao City held at AdDU. I planned to attend but I went home to witness the wedding of my brother. However I am really glad to know that a lot of students attended and were able to learn about Free and Open Source Software.

After all, the least we could do thank the people behind our great free and open source softwares is to celebrate Software Freedom Day – a day wherein we could have fun while sharing/exchanging software with friends and strangers, discuss, use, create, and learn more about FOSS.

Cheers to all the advocates of FOSS and SFD!πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Software Freedom Day 2010

    • Awww…πŸ™‚ just read this tonight. Made me smile. I don’t remember reading this comment though. Maybe because I didn’t have internet connection at home back then.

Leave a comment... :)

