Happy Birthday Tatay!

My grandfather celebrated his birthday yesterday, Feb 2.

I think he’s now 84. And he’s been bedridden for more than 4 years. Sometimes it’s hard to take care of him, especially when he wakes you up every 2 minutes at night to change his lying position. You’d both end up sleepless. And while he sleeps during the day, you’d be busy doing other chores, which could really wear you out. My mother and aunts would sometimes tell him that they’d leave Earth earlier than him if he won’t give them a good night’s rest. I’ve been his yaya for a few nights and I couldn’t agree less.

Looking at him lying on bed all day and all night makes me think more seriously about life – about how we should enjoy each moment while we still can. Sometimes it makes me sad that we couldn’t really stay by his side and talk to him as much as we can – because I know that that’s what makes him happiest. It makes me equally happy to be able to listen to his stories and get a glimpse of how he lived his life when he was still young and strong. Though I admit, it could sometimes get annoying when he keeps on asking the same questions over and over again..but I love him and I’m grateful that we are still given a chance to be with him.

Happy birthday Tatay! We love you!

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Tatay!

  1. Pingback: To My Grandparents in Heaven | My Lane

  2. Pingback: Granparents’ Day! | My Lane

Leave a comment... :)

