Doing Work that I ♥

Wow. My first week with Active Rail Solutions was awesome. I had a great time re-learning PHP and applying the object-oriented approach. I never tried learning OO PHP before because I simply didn’t feel that I needed to. I was content with Java for OO coding and I was comfortable with the old PHP because my codes worked anyway. But when James showed me the dynamics of using OO PHP, I saw its potential for speeding up development work and I really appreciated it.

I really loooovee NetBeans too! Again, I only used NetBeans for Java before but now that it also caters PHP coding, I prefer it over Dreamweaver. It’s all because of its code-completion/intelligent coding feature. I sometimes miss the WYSIWUG feature of Dreamweaver for web development (forms, images, etc.) but I get a cleaner code without the automatically generated codes/scripts from Dreamweaver.

I also love HeidiSQL. It’s such a great tool for database management. It’s so easy to use and I think it has a very smart user interface. I used to create scripts for my database and type out all my queries on the MySQL console. Well, it would still work for me but I’d prefer to use tools such as HeidiSQL. Why waste valuable development time? ^^,

I can’t help but thank all the developers of these super wonderful Free and Open Source Software. You’ve made our lives sweeter…THANK YOU!!!

I’ve realized that I really liked doing this kind of job. I enjoy it so much that I could not even notice the hours passing by. I still get that giddy feeling when I am able to make the system do what I wanted it to do. That emotional, happy, fulfilling moment that just makes me want to shout for joy and smile triumphantly to myself. Wow, it reminds me why I took IT as my major in college. I’ve been seeking for this yahoo feeling for a very long time…a very long time…

and what makes growing in this field a lot better is the awesome team that I belong to. Extremely talented, generous, patient, helpful and – most importantly, humble human beings.

5 thoughts on “Doing Work that I ♥

Leave a comment... :)

