Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle

I went to NBI (Davao) today to get a clearance. At 9:30 am, it was already crowded with people who, like me, are also getting a clearance for employment. I knew that getting my clearance would take a lot of time because there were too many people who went there ahead of me. What I was not prepared for was the rude behavior of some of NBI-Davao’s staff.

One of the staff keeps on embarrassing people over the microphone. Having a bad sense of hearing there was a crime and you’ll get embarassed in front of hundreds of people. There was one guy who misheard the announcement and the impolite lady behind the window told him over the mic that he should have removed his sunglasses because he can’t read his priority number well.

Most of the people who were waiting there sympathized with the poor guy. One of my seatmates commented that people had the right to wear sunglasses because they might be suffering from sore eyes or other eye diseases. It was funny but I couldn’t help but feel sorry for the guy.

Some of the staff were also sarcastic and would not answer your inquiries well. As if you are the dumbest person on Earth. Sigh. I always get this kind of maltreatment from people working in the government. How I wish they would treat people kindly. Smile, be gentle with your words and act as if you have the best job in the world.

This just reminds me to be nice to people who will need my service. I know this is hard to do all the time because sometimes we could be undergoing through some tough problems and we bring them to our work place. But, as one saying goes,

Be kind, for every person you meet is fighting a battle.

This could be our simple contribution to world peace…right? A single act of kindness you show to a person could mean a lot and he might give it back to someone else. =)

Leave a comment... :)

