The Most Meaningful Ash Wednesday for Me

Yesterday was the most meaningful Ash Wednesday for me.

I know that for some, it was just an ordinary “ritual” of putting a cross made of ash on their foreheads. But for me, it was the day when I finally, fully decided to surrender one thing that I have clung on for so long… that God wanted me to give up.

Why was I certain that God wanted me to give it up? Because I have been struggling with this “thing” for so long now. And this has caused me immeasurable pain, self-doubt and confusion. This has even caused me to sin, hurting me and my relationship with the Father.

I felt like it was a hopeless battle with myself because that thing has been my source of comfort for a very long time already. I have chosen to ignore the pieces of advice that friends and family have given me simply because I felt that I needed that thing to survive.

But through prayers and reflection, I have finally made a decision to give it up to Him. I know that there will be tougher days ahead when I would feel the need of having it back. Luckily, I have read one of Bo’s articles on Focusing on your dreams and not on addictions. Instead of thinking that I don’t want to…. over and over again in my mind,  I have to think about my dreams and holy ambitions in my life and direct my energy towards their attainment.

In Bo’s article, he said that if you say
“I don’t want to think about a pink elephant” five times, you’d end up thinking about a pink elephant! So he suggested to FOCUS on YOUR DREAMS instead. So if you are like me, don’t despair, there is hope. You can start by making a list of your dreams and defining your ultimate purpose in life. Then be confident that you will be able to achieve your dreams!

Here is the Self-Confidence Formula from Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich:

First. I know that I have the ability to achieve the object of my Definite Purpose in life, therefore, I DEMAND of myself persistent, continuous action toward its attainment, and I here and now promise to render such action.

Second. I realize the dominating thoughts of my mind will eventually reproduce themselves in outward, physical action, and gradually transform themselves into physical reality, therefore, I will concentrate my thoughts for thirty minutes daily, upon the task of thinking of the person I intend to become, thereby creating in my mind a clear mental picture of that person.

Third. I know through the principle of auto-suggestion, any desire that I persistently hold in my mind will eventually seek expression through some practical means of attaining the object back of it, therefore, I will devote ten minutes daily to demanding of myself the development of SELF-CONFIDENCE.

Fourth. I have clearly written down a description of my DEFINITE CHIEF AIM in life, and I will never stop trying, until I shall have developed sufficient self-confidence for its attainment.

Fifth. I fully realize that no wealth or position can long endure, unless built upon truth and justice, therefore, I will engage in no transaction which does not benefit all whom it affects. I will succeed by attracting to myself the forces I wish to use, and the cooperation of other people. I will induce others to serve me, because of my willingness to serve others. I will eliminate hatred, envy, jealousy, selfishness, and cynicism, by developing love for all humanity, because I know that a negative attitude toward others can never bring me success. I will cause others to believe in me, because I will believe in them, and in myself.

I will sign my name to this formula, commit it to memory, and repeat it aloud once a day, with full FAITH that it will gradually influence my THOUGHTS and ACTIONS so that I will become a self-reliant, and successful person.

2 thoughts on “The Most Meaningful Ash Wednesday for Me

  1. nice article. Me too. I had a meaningful Ash wednesday. One thing is I had a chance to help out Fr. Bob on the mass at CG3. And also, he gave us some helpful advices on how to change our lives even after lent.
    I hope you find what are you looking for, whatever that is.

    Matthew 6:33

    • Wow! That’s nice Alvin.. naks naman…🙂 Yeah, it’s nice to know and witness that a lot of young professionals still take time to reflect and grow spiritually. I was really pleasantly surprised to see so many people at Piazza last Wednesday. Despite their busy schedules and deadlines, they still prioritized the Ash Wednesday mass.🙂

Leave a comment... :)

