7 Places You Shouldn’t Miss This Summer!

One of the things I’m most grateful for the past year is that I had the chance to explore my beloved hometown. Here are some of the places you have to visit in Surigao del Sur (specifically Bislig and Hinatuan):

1. Highlands (located near the Catholic church). It not only boasts of good food and a beautiful view of the city but it also has a mini playground for the kids. Children (and adults) can enjoy using the baby-zipline for only 5 pesos. =)

2. Ocean View Park. From the name itself, this place gives you a breathtaking view of the ocean. They also sell good food at a very low price. It has a function hall (and a pool) that is best for events such as weddings, baptisms, birthdays and company parties. Aside from that, they also have a Doll house (my personal favorite!!!) – a beautiful collection of dolls from all over the world.

3. Boulevard(Chocolate Beach) – It’s best to come here at night, where you could enjoy grilled food and beer at its best – by the bay. Chill in the cool breeze with your friends at the boulevard. =)

4. Sheilah’s Inland Resort. This resort boasts of three pools and comfortable rooms for tourists. Adults and kids alike can enjoy the pools of different sizes. This is really a great swimming spot for all. =) 

5. Tinuy-an Falls. You will not only marvel at the beauty of this falls but you will also enjoy taking a shower in its fresh waters.

6. Enchanted River (Hinatuan).  You’d really be enchanted by its cool, clear blue waters. Take a dip and enjoy swimming (can’t swim?Get a life vest!) with the fishes. You’d also be amazed if you’ll see the colorful fishes during fish feeding time (12 noon). If you’re already here, you should also take a side trip by taking a boat ride for a very reasonable price. Your tour guides will take you to a sanctuary where you can see pawikans (sea turtles) and different kinds of fish. 

7. Hagonoy Island. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always loved this island. I have celebrated my birthday on this island countless times with my family and friends and we always had an awesome time. If you’re from Bislig, it’s about a 45-minute to 1 hour ride by motorboat. But I and my family usually go there from Caguyao (only about 15minutes!).

These are just 7 places that will make your summer at my hometown a vacation to remember! Enjoy! =)

One thought on “7 Places You Shouldn’t Miss This Summer!

  1. Hi lene, it’s good you featured the beautiful places in surigao sur because I believe that many people don’t know that such places exist there. I’ve lived in mangagoy for 16 years when I was working in picop and I saw Tinuy-an Falls when it was still undeveloped, but I haven’t seen it lately, only in pictures taken by my family who went there 2 years ago. Had gone also to the enchanted river 2 years ago but did not have the chance to see the mysterious fishes coming out from the bottom of nowhere during feeding time at 12 noon as we were chasing time. Maybe next time🙂

Leave a comment... :)

