Be > U Imagined

Be greater than you imagined. (Accenture’s ad on newspaper)

I just completed my orientation at my new company. And I am happy because I feel that I have finally found what I have been looking for ( for the longest time) and I think I made a good decision to join this global company.

Before I made this career move, I sought the advice of Sacha, my role model whom I consider as my career mentor (through her awesome blog). She was very kind and she replied in her email saying that:

You can do incredible stuff wherever you live, but it’s easier to bump into people and opportunities when you’re where other things are happening. If you choose to stay where you are, you can still connect with people on the Internet, it’s just harder. =)
I know it’s scary, but I’d vote for giving it a try. Find a place close to where you work, if possible, or close to public transit so that you can get to work. Find a way to get through traffic – maybe read a book, or take the time to reflect. Find a way to keep in touch with home (Skype!), and find new friends. You’ll be okay.

She was right. I have always wanted to be a software engineer and the company has given me more than I thought I deserved. It really amazed me that I was given a position higher than what I expected. Just like what our ad says, “Be greater than you imagined.” I am really thankful that they saw my potential to contribute to the company because not everybody is given this chance – especially someone like me who spent almost my entire life with the academe. I am grateful that they took a risk in me and it makes me really excited.

It’s great to be a part of a company whose principles and values are aligned with mine. And this is indeed a fulfillment of one of my goals. I wish I can stay long enough to prove my worth and to be the best that I can be. Last year, I had a different vision for myself but maybe this is part of God’s greater plan for me to discover and reach my maximum potential – to be greater than I ever imagined. =)

Leave a comment... :)

