Lost and Found

I was on my way back home when I thought about checking what I wrote on my journal for my day. I have must have gasped too loudly when I realized that it wasn’t in my bag ’cause the man seated on the other side looked worriedly at me. I was already travelling for 20+ minutes and I was almost home but I hurriedly got out at the next bus stop.

I was halfway back when my mind frantically recalled where I must have possibly left my precious notebook. I figured that I must have left it in the office but my heart sank when I remembered glancing at on my way out. Oh! I must have dropped it in the bus! I wanted to cry, get out of the bus, and just go home, feeling so stupid. But a thought suddenly flashed in my mind. No, I didn’t drop it inside the bus. I left it in the comfort room at the company building! Again? I left and lost my umbrella in the same comfort room last week during the peak of typhoon Falcon.

I was sooooo relieved when I found it lying on the sink in the comfort room. Whew! This notebook is very important to me. It contained too much confidential information, thoughts, plans, and notes…

I want to reduce the likelihood of losing and misplacing my things because it costs me too much! Not just the money, but also precious time, effort, peace of mind and unnecessary stress!

Here are some things I’ve come up with to meet this goal:
1. ALWAYS double check the place before you leave, try to see if you’ve left something. – I usually forget to do this when my mind is too preoccupied with something.
2. Bring a big bag so you can put everything inside. I often lose things when I am holding them in my hands. Putting things in one bag helps.

I wish that the time will come when embedding electronic chips on things won’t cost too much so that I can have those in practically all my things. Won’t it be cool to be able to track everything and never lose a thing? Haha.

I’m interested… what are your ways of reducing the likelihood of losing (material) things?

Leave a comment... :)

