Sometimes it’s okay to talk to a stranger. :)

Last week while I was sitting on the bench waiting for my MRT ride, a cute 10-yr old little girl took the seat beside me and asked “What’s your name?” I was surprised. In this busy world in the metro, where people don’t seem to care or give a damn at all, one little girl cared.

She introduced me to two of her pretty older sisters, who were busy chatting with each other. Krisha, the little girl, was light, bubbly, and very charming. She told me stories of her family: her mom who was in Canada, her dad who spoils her (she’s the bunso, the youngest child among three girls), her sisters who take care of her, her sisters’ boyfriends – who are “nice” to her, and other little girl’s stuff.

I was especially moved when she shared to me how she cries when she sees other girls with their moms and how she misses her… another touching OFW-family story. Meeting this little girl reminded me to go the extra mile – be nice to a stranger, and somehow make a connection with people I meet everyday. It’s so easy for us adults to choose not to care – or pretend not to care about the people around us. We have a lot of things going on in our busy little lives that sometimes it’s too much to even take notice of the person sitting beside us. Or worse, we may have been victimized by people who take advantage of our innate goodness. Yes, this world can also be dangerous. But I was thankful that I violated the “Don’t talk to strangers”-rule on that special moment with the little girl named Krisha.

When we reached our MRT stop, she hugged me – that kind of hug that says a lot – sincere and genuine… and I’m really thankful that I met this cute little stranger.

Leave a comment... :)

