Even StreetChildren are Our FUTURE: ChildHope Asia Philippines

I had a fulfilling Saturday afternoon yesterday. I spent it with some of the street children in Manila. Instead of just staying at home, watching TV and wasting my time away, I went out and met these kids.

I signed up for my company’s volunteer program for teaching street children, partnering with ChildHope Asia Philippines and now I have a wonderful chance to reach out to these often neglected and misunderstood members of our society.

Prior to our immersion in the field, the staff of ChildHope Asia Philippines oriented us about the organization, their advocacy, and their activities.


Christian, one of CHAP’s staff, is asking the children to illustrate their “pangarap” (dreams) on a piece of paper.

One of the children shares that he wants to be a football player or a policeman someday so that he can help his family. He said that he will only be able to achieve his dreams if he can finish his studies.Kuya Christian tells them a story of a man who was able to achieve his dream because he had confidence in himself. And he shared to them inspiring stories of Henry Sy, Isko Moreno, and Manny Pacquiao. Simple, poor men who believed in their dreams, worked hard, and are now successful. He encouraged them that someday, they can also be like them.

We also went to another site, a park in Manila to observe another group of street children. When we arrived, kuya PeeWee, one of CHAP’s teachers, introduced as to the children and they all flocked to us para mag mano. On the picture below, the children are watching a short film on the mobile classroom of CHAP – a part of their values formation.

I really admire the people behind ChildHope Asia Philippines. Its organizers, staff, and volunteers are all working together to help make a difference in these children’s lives. Some of us may get easily irritated by these kids begging on the streets or in jeepneys and consider them as eye sores but if you really try to see beyond what your eyes could see, you’d discover that these are just children, hungry for the society’s love and acceptance. As the song goes, “I believe that the children are our future, teach them well, and let them lead the way… Show them all the beauty they possess inside, give them a sense of pride…”

9 thoughts on “Even StreetChildren are Our FUTURE: ChildHope Asia Philippines

  1. I hope I could join you one day. Try ko muna sa local SFC namin mag ganyan, they also do that on their Gawad Kalinga activities.

    • Yeah!!! We’d all be happy for more volunteers.. It’s a really nice way of making a difference in this world, and sharing a bit of your time to others. You’ll be touched to see their faces light up when they see you.πŸ™‚

    • SUPER!!!! I’d super love for you to be with me next time!!!πŸ™‚ I just don’t know if you can stand the… hmm.. amoy of the kids.. you know na, medyo, yeah, they don’t really smell nice.. but the experience of being with them, knowing their dreams, seeing their innocence… very fulfilling.πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Happy 1st Anniversary! | My Lane

  3. Thank you Mylene… Childhope will celebrates its 25th anniversary on May 22 at Ilustrado Restaurant in Intramuros. This is also our first fund raising event to sustain the programs and services of Childhope among the street kids in Metro Manila. So if you are free, please come and support our fund raising. You may contact us at 5617118 or 5634647.
    We hope and pray for more years of rewarding partnership with different corporations like Accenture and individual like you for the benefits of the abandoned and vulnerable street children . God bless!

    • Hi Mylene! I am glad that you saw my blog about your honorable organization and how you are making a difference in the lives of street children. I really wish I could come to your 25th anniversary. However I am not in the Philippines right now. I am on onshore assignment in the US.

      But in the future, I hope I could visit your center again and help in any way I can.πŸ™‚

Leave a comment... :)

