Overwhelming Learning Stream

​Finally!!! I have a Struts 2 + Hibernate working example!🙂

Questions I have to answer:

1. How is session factory created from the hibernate.cfg.xml?

2. Why should serializable be implemented by the model classes?

3. What are the uses of Annotations? (I’ve read about this before but I still have to know more about it)
    Why should I put annotations in the model class? @Entity and @GeneratedValue @Column?

4. Why do I have to create a serialVersionUID?

5. What does session.load() do?

6. How does session.createQuery(String) work?

I came across numerous streams of exciting information about different frameworks/tools/technologies related to J2EE in the past few days. It’s been a really exciting adventure. I learned about Maven, Hibernate tools, and Icesoft. When I was already feeling really anxious to have a working sample of Struts 2 + Hibernate integration, I came across this site: http://viralpatel.net/blogs/2010/01/tutorial-struts2-hibernate-example-eclipse.html. It was just what I needed – a Struts 2 + Hibernate + MySQL tutorial. I had problems working with Maven because I am not yet very familiar with how I should run the application within Eclipse. So I decided to look for a tutorial that does not involve Maven. However, I will go back to it again in the future because I appreciate its use and how it simplifies the (automatic) downloading (collection) of jar files.
 
Right now, my priority is to learn Hibernate with MySQL so that I can start on building my mini-project.

 

2 thoughts on “Overwhelming Learning Stream

  1. keep it up! It certainly looks interesting! Is this a Center Bench initiative, or just something you are doing on your own time?

    I think you might also want to look into the Spring(framework)/Hibernate combination. It’s very common these days.

  2. Hi Geff,

    Thanks for the encouragement. It’s not a Center Bench initiative. I’m actually doing this on my own..

    I’ve been teaching Java when I was still teaching at a university but I have never done Java-related work in the industry. So I am familiar with J2SE but J2EE is new to me. I am very interested in doing J2EE-related projects so I thought of learning about these different frameworks.

    Yeah, I’m also thinking of learning about Spring after I am more familiar with Hibernate and if I have already created a mini-project on Struts 2 and Hibernate.

    I’m really having fun learning all these things.🙂

Leave a comment... :)

