LDF: Long distance friendship

April, me, and Jessa in 2008

I met her 4 years ago at a family outing. She was a total stranger then. She was young, beautiful, and attractive. At first glance, people would really be drawn to her because she exudes an aura of youth and quiet confidence.

Jessa Gonzales Gomez

I felt at ease with her the first time we met and we had fun getting to know each other in that short time. I never had an idea that she would be a part of my life from then on.

I got to know her brother through her and because I was at a low point in my life at that time and I needed someone to talk to, I easily got really close with him. Jessa and I lost touch at some time but I always got news about her from her brother. One time when we were together, he shared that she was pregnant.

I was shocked and concerned because I knew that she was still in college. I knew she had dreams of helping her family when she graduates. I contacted her to make sure that she was doing fine and provided her the support that she needed. I am glad that she trusted me enough to share her struggles and feelings with me.

When I was in Japan and somehow lost contact with my family and friends, she was my constant chatmate. I shared to her the loneliness in being in a strange land, where you could not understand the people around you and she shared her experiences during her pregnancy. I was so glad that she was around and she was online most of the time during late nights in the Philippines (Japan and Philippines have a 2-hour difference, when it’s 8pm in Japan, it’s already 10pm in the Philippines). I was there for only 3 weeks but I was really lonely at nights because I missed texting her brother. Haha. :p

I never knew that our friendship was only a preparation for me so that I would accept my brother’s news one December afternoon of the same year. My brother told me that he got his girlfriend pregnant. I was really devastated at first because I had plans and dreams for him. I was really mad and disappointed. And then I remembered everything that Jessa shared to me. And it was then that I understood and accepted my brother’s situation. If Jessa’s experience hasn’t prepared me for that major news from my own brother, I could have been really furious.

Later she became a mom and gave birth to a beautiful, gorgeous boy, Zeke. I really admire how she and her hubby, both so young, have worked hard to give their boy a bright future. I met her again for just a second time here in NAIA airport last year, when she was bound for Doha. Funny because I was supposed to go to Doha 2 years ago but then my plans changed because of some circumstances. I really admired her courage and strength when I met her there at the airport. Leaving a very young son to face and work in a foreign land is never easy. And I knew she was just trying to be strong for her family but she did it… and now she’s reunited with them in Doha.

I’m really thankful to God for allowing her to be part of my life. I’m learning from her experiences and she has become so dear to me.

Jessa, thank you so much for the friendship and trust that you’ve given me. I admire you for the woman that you are and have become. You will always be a sister to me. You are such a blessing.🙂

2 thoughts on “LDF: Long distance friendship

  1. Ate my, thank you for this.. I am speechless. I love you.
    Nax pwede mag ask copy ani na fotos sa davao? grabie ko ka tikling ay.. hahahah. musta na tood si April? You know why i stayed up late when I was still pregnant? i’m making money online. lol ga work online formatting CVs for my cousin.. naka mention ko ana sa imoha before? at least naka 1k ko per month ato.. harhar it is not much but grabie na nga tabang.🙂.

  2. Hi Jes!

    Sure, I’ll email a copy to you sa imong yahoo email account.🙂
    And yeah, na mention na nimo sa ako before why you were staying up late while you were pregnant. Hehe…Wla pa nigawas sa world ato ang gwapo nga baby Zeke

Leave a comment... :)

