Price of Vanity: Hair Treatments

Last January, I went to Encarnacion salon somewhere in Recto. At first I just intended to have a hair cut but I was convinced by the gay hairdresser to have my hair rebonded. It was easy to convince me because I really had plans of rebonding my hair – but not at their salon. To make the long story short, I agreed to buy their service.

But I was horrified when I saw what happened to my hair – they were sooo dead! It really alarmed me. But the bakla reassured me that my hair would look alive later, after they are done with the  procedure. So I tried to calm myself and silently prayed that I didn’t make a huge mistake to my precious crown of glory. True to his word, my hair did seemed alive – straight and shiny after they ironed it (and my ears, face, forehead too! Grrrr…). My hair looked okay but I knew, deep inside, that I made a terrible and (hopefully not) irreversible damage to it.

After observing it for a month and feeling my hair strands grow rougher each day, I decided to have it treated at David’s Salon. They recommended L’Oreal’s Kerastase Resistance – designed for brittle, very damaged hair, split ends. According to the box, it is made for damaged hair at erosion levels 3 to 4. Whoa! So my hair is that damaged?! It certainly feels and looks so.. 😦

I hope this really treats my hair because it’s really expensive for me – the box costs P2,227. That’s a really expensive treatment for a rebond that cost me P800. Argh! As the lady at David’s Salon said, it’s pretty easy to do damage to your hair but a lot harder (and more expensive) to repair.
IMG_20130205_214621

Well, that’s a really costly lesson – the price of vanity. My hair wasn’t really that bad in the first place. It just needed some TLC – not rebond! Now I used up 2 months worth of budget for clothes as a tradeoff for these hair expenses.

IMG_20130205_220005

Leave a comment... :)

