Celebrate Love!

How was your February 14?

Yesterday, it was Valentines Day for some, but just a plain Thursday for many. During our meeting at The Gathering, we were asked how we spent our Feb 14 day/night. 75% of the group shared that they spent it with their girlfriend/boyfriend/wife/husband/partner – eating out, praying together, watching movies, or just hanging out together. 25% of the group (including me) shared that it was just an ordinary Thursday (hehe..obviously this answer came from the singles and unattached).

So what exactly is Valentines Day?

I heard someone say that it was a Singles’ Awareness Day. Haha. Others say it’s a day for the lovers. Well, it really just depends on how you see it on your perspective. Although I am not really one of the fans of Valentines Day, I still like the idea of having one day in the calendar for love. However people seem to have forgotten that there are 3 types of love – eros, philial, and agape. Most people think that Valentines Day is only for the lovers (those that fall under eros). That’s why the day is often dreaded by the singles and the brokenhearted.

I could have chosen to feel lonely and depressed because I don’t have a special person in my life right now or because the day just reminds me of broken relationships but I chose to celebrate love on this day! Love for my friends and family, and love for God. I sent texts to my loved ones to let them know that I love them. Although this should be done not only in Valentines Day but because of our busy lives, sometimes we tend to forget this very simple thing. It’s nice that Valentines Day reminds us to be more loving! 🙂

I also celebrated love with God through prayer. It’s so timely because the day before Valentines Day was Ash Wednesday. I am reminded of God’s great love for me and that I should repent for my sins. Even if I’m already active in serving Him through The Feast, I admit that I am still sinful. And there are times when I feel very ashamed of myself, which is exactly what sin does in our life – damage our relationship with God. But I know we should not feel condemned because God still loves us.

So you see, there are endless reasons to celebrate love. So be joyful and be generous of your love. Love is something that is meant to be given away…and it will also come back to you.. 🙂

Just a short message to the single ladies like me (especially to my newfound friend, Kat):
I hope that you feel better and blessed byreading this (and attending The Feast). I know it’s really hard and painful to undergo a heartbreak. It may take time to heal and let go. But I know that this is also the best time for you to get to know yourself more…and more importantly, to know God more. Surround yourself with friends and family…people who really love you for who you are. We may not be able to comprehend it yet, but this heartbreak will make you stronger, and more compassionate. Being single doesn’t equate to being unhappy. Enjoy yourself. Have fun! The Lord says, “Be still, and know that I am God.” 🙂

God bless you sis! Let’s have fun at the Love Life Retreat! See you tomorrow! You inspired me to write this post. Don’t be depressed na… 🙂

Leave a comment... :)

