Simply because he is my father!

He’s pasaway. He’s hard headed. He’s emo. But I love this guy.

He is my first travel buddy. When I was younger, I always tagged along wherever he went – even if he didn’t want me to. I could never forget the time when we rode the pumpboat back to our town and the boat almost sank because it was raining so hard and the waves were so big. The boat was rocking back and forth but just one look at him gave me an assurance that I would be okay. I knew he would keep me safe. And he did – because he is my father.

DSC06365Our trip to Enchanted River is one of the most memorable trips we’ve ever had. One day during my vacation at home, I was complaining that my friends from other places have already been at Enchanted River while I – who was a local of Hinatuan, haven’t even seen the place. He immediately said “Ta, adto ta, mag motor lang ta.” (Come, let’s go. We’ll just ride the motorcycle). I was thrilled because we haven’t had a trip – just the two of us – for a long time already.

enchanted_river_wd_papaHe’s usually very emotional… especially when he’s had a few drinks. It’s the only time when he gets the courage to talk to us and tell us how much he missed us. Papa is more emotional and cheesy than Mama. Just this May, I was surprised to receive a text from him:

iloveupaThe once very strict father has now mellowed down. I used to get really frightened when I am not yet home by 5pm and I hear his angry voice calling me. I’d go home running right away. But now, we are the ones who would call him to go home. Hahaha. Once when he was out so late, I texted him asking why he isn’t home yet and he should be home already. He replied explaining that it’s been raining hard and that he’s just waiting for it to stop so he can go home. A few minutes later, he was home. Hehe. Times have certainly changed.

But sometimes I get really annoyed at him because he is pasaway – he doesn’t take care of his health and finances well. But despite all his imperfections, I still love him – simply because he is my father.

Papa, you may not be the best father in the world, but I know how much you love us. I hope you take care of your health because someday, if ever I do get a chance to walk down the aisle, I want you to walk with me. Hehe. I love you so much Papa!🙂

2 thoughts on “Simply because he is my father!

Leave a comment... :)

