Eat, pray, meditate

The only way to predict the future is to invent it. – Anonymous

I had a relaxing and refreshing day on my personal retreat. I’ve decided to take this because I’ve observed that I’m getting too tired a lot lately and it seems that I don’t enjoy all the things that I do anymore. I knew I needed time to think about my life.

When I got to the office last Friday, I received an email invitation for an overnight retreat at Antipolo Prayer Mountain. I was amazed and overjoyed because on my way to the office, I ‘ve been thinking about where I’m going to stay for my personal retreat. I immediately responded to the email and informed the organizers that I was coming with them.

However when I woke up on Saturday, I realized that what I needed most was an alone time to be with myself and with God. I didn’t want to go through the activities that the organizers have prepared. I didn’t want to exert any effort to mingle with the participants. It wasn’t what I needed at that time. So I texted the organizers again, apologizing that I won’t be able to come. I knew it won’t affect their retreat because I only asked to be added to the participants, my absence won’t really hurt.

I then decided to search for a nice garden near Metro Manila where I could do my soul searching. I really want to commune with nature, see some greens and get out of the cold stone walls around me. I was amazed to know that there are actually many nice gardens in Metro Manila. I zeroed in on La Mesa Ecopark because it seems peaceful. I was getting ready to leave the condo when I heard loud roars of thunder. Mother nature isn’t cooperating with my solo adventure. The sky was dark gray when I looked at it from my window. Uh oh…

A few minutes later, I saw the sun shining and I quickly left and rode on the MRT. However when I was already in Cubao station, it rained heavily and it was already quite dark at 2pm. Good thing I remembered that there’s a garden at Trinoma and I could still gaze at the greenery.
image

I was pleased to find the perfect location for my personal retreat. Or maybe it’s more fitting to call it my thinking-slash-reflection time. The ambience was perfect! The rain has drowned the noise of the city. It was cold and I was alone with my thoughts. The cake and the hot chocolate served at Tokyo Bubble Tea were also perfect. And to add more perfect-ness (no such term) to my day, there was a chapel near the tea place. Amazing!

I was able to commune with God while the wonderful music of the choir enveloped the place. It was soothing, calming, and refreshing.

This was a very nice experience for me. To pause and think. To ponder and plan. To evaluate and correct. To eat. To pray. To meditate.🙂

Leave a comment... :)

