Questions, Answered

  1. Do I still enjoy what I’m doing on a daily basis?
    [Work] Yes and no. Yes I enjoy coding in Java, unit testing, and documenting my work. What I don’t enjoy is working overtime and working late nights. They say that in the IT world, these things are inevitable especially when you’re working with people on the other side of the world.
    [Church Ministry] Yes. I still love serving through my 3 different ministries: Warmth (Usher), Kids (Teacher), and Media (layouting the bulletin). However I just need to make sure that I don’t overdo or over-serve or burden myself unnecessarily so that I won’t take out the joy in serving.
  2. What do I want to accomplish?
    [Career] I want to increase my proficiency in Java. I want to learn more about emerging technologies and contribute in making this world a better place through IT (Ms IT Universe answer). :p
    [Finance] I want to start my own business and make it stable by the time I’m 35. I want to see my 3 little investments grow and benefit a lot of people.
    [Life] I want to be with my family and friends. I want to spend the remaining days of my life with the people who matter most to me.
  3. Is it worth it?
    Is it worth the sacrifice of working and living away from my family? Yes. When I look at my family now, my brothers having their own fulfilling jobs, my niece growing up healthy, pretty, and smart, my parents living and enjoying life, I smile to myself. It’s worth it. However, right now I should start doing things for myself too. I have to be more giving to myself because I could never truly give to others if I won’t give to myself.
  4. Where am I headed?
    To old age. Hehe. I’ll create a separate post for my 1-year and 5-year plans.🙂
  5. How do my daily activities help me achieve my long term goals?
    Before I took the retreat, I honestly couldn’t find meaning in my daily activities. I couldn’t see how the things that I do everyday contribute to the fulfillment of my life dreams. But now, after the retreat, I realized that I was just tired and I needed a break. My daily activities do contribute to my life-long dreams. Actually, I am starting to live my dream.🙂 I learn a lot in the office. I learn about managing and motivating people from my manager. I learn about customer service. I learn about getting along with others. I learn about pushing myself to my limits. I learn about finding solutions. In church, I also learn about service. I learn to be generous and trusting God. I learn about selfless giving. I learn about faith. I also learn to love others and myself the way Jesus wants me to. At home I learn how to cook and take care of myself. I learn how to be patient and adjust to the different personalities of people I live with.
    [To be answered on my next posts.. too tired and sleepy now. Yawn]
  6. What are my long term goals?
  7. How can I improve my processes?
  8. How can I get better?
  9. What are the things that I should continue doing?
  10. What is blocking me from doing what I really want to do with my life?
  11. Am I really happy?
  12. Am I making a difference?
  13. Have I been loving myself or did I try to please people in the expense of my own happiness?
  14. Am I learning new things?

Leave a comment... :)

