Highlights of 2013

2013 has been unexpectedly great! Super! A lot of great things happened in my life. Unfortunately because of my very busy schedule, I wasn’t able to post regularly on this blog. I just created collages of the pictures I’ve taken and uploaded them to Instagram.

These are the events I’m grateful for in 2013:

1. January – I visited/met friends at Gensan. It was a brief but fun and memorable reunion. I wasn’t very busy at work so I had time to revisit one of my favorite hobbies – watercolor painting. My housemates and I also went jogging at Ayala Triangle.
2. February – I joined the “I love life” retreat and met a lot of really nice and cool people who became my friends. I also started teaching watercolor painting at the Awesome Kids Ministry. My housemates and I also had a short trip to Pampanga to attend the christening of our x-housemate’s pretty baby, Callie.
3. March – My housemates and I bought vouchers for 10 sessions at Golds Gym, consumable in 2 months. We enjoyed the Yoga and Zumba sessions.🙂 I also met one of my most admired Filipinas through JEWELS, the pretty Ms. Rissa Singson-Kawpeng!
4. April – My birth month! This was the most memorable month because I attended Jessa’s wedding, bonded with my high school friends, spent a super great time with my family and celebrated my birthday at the beautiful island of Camiguin. It is one of the best times of my life. I also worked on a very exciting project at work, which allowed me to visit beautiful places and meet nice people.
5. May – My Feast Ortigas friends and I visited the beautiful and very cute babies at “Grace to be Born”. It was a very touching and memorable experience. The babies were really adorable… I can’t stop myself from wondering what their parents went through to make them abandon those poor babies..😦 This month was also the birthday of one of my favorite girls in Awesome Kids Ministry. I know it’s not very good to play favorites but the Faytaren girls are just so sweet, pretty, and smart that I can’t help but like them a lot.🙂 May was also the month when I got reunited with my college boardmates Ate Neneng (from Taiwan) and Ate Evelyn. It was also a memorable month because I attended the wedding of my college friend Weng. I got reunited with my college buddies and we had a crazy night-to-remember…🙂
6. June – was the month I started to get really busy because I got deployed to a new project. And it was the start of the rainy days so I stayed at home most of the time.
7. July – This was “family time” month because I went home and stayed for about 2 days. It was our hometown’s fiesta. It was the first time that I went home during fiesta after about 8 long years. It was brief but I was really happy to have spent time with my family. This was also the time when I started to get re-connected with my friends through Skype and other online apps because I already had Wifi at home.
8. August – This was the time when I felt really tired at work – I experienced burnout. I searched for a place to be alone and just reflect and pray. This was also the time when Filipinos started to get serious in fighting against corruption – when the Napoles scandal enraged netizens.
9. September – It was the deadline for my biggest task in my project so I spent a lot of time in the office.. working until the wee of hours of the morning. But I’m grateful that everything turned out well. I had a nice ice breaker when the Faytaren girls gave me 2 tickets to the “Alice in Wonderland” play. I watched it with Maan and we had a great time – even if the show was for kids. We were kids at heart, so we still enjoyed the show.🙂
10. October – I got to know my new teammates better when we had a team building at Camp Philips. It was a fun-filled team building because we did very physically-challenging activities and even crawled – or I think the better term is – swam, in the mud! My whole body ached the following day but it’s okay because I definitely enjoyed the activity. Another very memorable event in October was my trip to Baguio with my friends from Gensan. Although I lost my wallet during the trip, it didn’t stop me from having a good time with my friends. This has been a busy month!
11. November – I went home to celebrate my mother’s birthday in advance and to see my family before I leave the country to work onshore temporarily. I did my Christmas shopping and made several trips to Divisoria just to complete my list. The effort was worth the smile and happiness of my loved ones. We also had a great time at the Enchanted River. The place is really enchanting and there were really large and colorful fishes! It was awesome to see them coming out during feeding time. The river is like a big magical acquarium. You’ve got to visit it someday!😉
One very sad event that happened in November is the super typhoon Haiyan or Yolanda. A lot of my Filipino kababayans were severely affected and they lost their loved ones, jobs, crops, livelihood, homes, and other valuable possessions. It was a very tragic event but the bayanihan spirit made everyone hopeful. Help, relief goods and funds came pouring in from all over the world. It was really very touching to see everyone pitching in to help those who were affected – even Christmas parties were cancelled or made very simple so that the budget could be used to rebuild the lives of our fellowmen.
12. December – This month passed by like a whirlwind. I was so busy working on my papers, my clearance, and my remaining tasks in the project. I had my US embassy interview, then I was packing.. and before I knew it, I was already in the US! It’s really such an amazing turn of events and I’m so thankful to God for this opportunity to explore a new beautiful place. Although it was sad that I wasn’t able to spend the holidays with my family, still I am grateful for the opportunity that was given to me. To explore. To grow. To enrich.

I know it will be a totally awesome 2014. There will be challenges but I know that with God’s help, I can conquer and win those challenges. I will grow and make my dreams come true!!

Looking forward to these things in 2014:
1. Win challenges at work, learn more things about Java EE and grow in my chosen field of interest.
2. Make new friends and develop deeper relationships.
3. Nourish relationships with family and friends back home. Keep in touch and speak to them often.
4. Keep myself healthy and fit.
5. Invest. Save. Share.
6. Continue to grow in faith. Serve the Lord wherever I am. Use my time, talent, and treasure for His grater glory.🙂

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a comment... :)

