Reviews: Sending Money to the Philippines Through Remitly

Buhay POFW… POFW for Parang OFW. Hehe..

Technically I am not an OFW (Overseas Filipino Worker) – at least that’s what our company HR said. But since I’m a Filipino who’s temporarily working outside of the Philippines, then I am somewhat an OFW. I also checked the web for a definition of OFW:

Overseas Filipino Workers or OFWs are Filipinos working abroad that are expected to return permanently either upon the expiration of a work contract or upon retirement. – Wikipedia

As an OFW, I am expected to send money to the Philippines. I send money to my family (parents, brothers and sister) and also to my personal account to pay my bills/investments in the Philippines (Avida, Sunlife, Prulife, Citiseconline).

At first I was literally clueless. When I was in the Philippines, I usually sent money to my family in the province through BDO (thank God for their Cash Card program!), MLhuillier and Cebuana Lhuillier. It was always a hassle. You know, withdrawing money, going to the  other bank to deposit. Or worse, find a near *Lhuillier and line up to send money. The BDO option is more convenient. Although I have to withdraw money from BPI and deposit it to BDO. So in short, the process of sending money to my family was very time-consuming and inconvenient.

But now, here in the US, they’ve made (almost) everything very convenient for everyone. Almost everything is interconnected! With just a few clicks, I could send money from my bank here in the US to my bank in the Philippines! Cool!!!

remitlyHow? Through Remitly.com. They are the middle men who work with both banks. I have done my own research about all the existing remittance services and so far most (if not all) of my Filipino friends are using Remitly. My friends said that they offer the highest conversion rate. Check them out for yourself now…🙂

3 thoughts on “Reviews: Sending Money to the Philippines Through Remitly

  1. Here is a frank review of Remitly. Although most of my friends recommended Xoom for convenience and reliability, I did my own research– checked all the services/transaction charges, security/privacy, etc and went for Remitly. It is backed by Jeff Bezos, founder of Amazon, so definitely trustworthy! The website is clean and unambiguous, instructions for adding account and personal details are simple and they have iOS/Android apps for all subsequent transactions. Since March 2015, I have used it about 6 times and have got very good service and glitch free transfers all those many times. They have an express exchange rate, and a basic exchange rate, both of which are locked in rates. Basic rate is higher and takes about 3 days, but if 3 days time is not a concern, it’s exchange rate is about 30 paise (0.30 Rs) higher than Xoom per USD. Every transaction above $1000 has no separate transaction charge and you get email notifications at every step, from the time of debit from your account to credit into target account in India. I didn’t have to submit any documents on first sign-up, and after that, transactions are basically just 1-click away. Enter amount, review and send. Simple as that! You can sign up with this referral link to get $30 sign up bonus/Amazon gift card:
    http://remit.ly/@1a7cnk2

    Hope this helps.

Leave a comment... :)

