Worried

Note: I initially wanted to keep this post private because I’m afraid people I know might read this and form their  judgments about me. But I realized that I just have to share this so that other people can learn from my experience.  Because after I wrote this post I really felt better and my day also went great… Especially at work. It seemed to turn 360 degrees just because I began my day with the right attitude and mindset. So hope this helps you too… :) 

Today I woke up worried that I might have not done my best in my job. I’m afraid that I am not giving enough for my job. I am doubting myself and I wish I can fight this feeling. I should just feel confident and slowly but surely be great at what I do. Contribute to the team. I should not let anybody down or put me down.

The only way they can let me down is when I screw up on purpose. I didn’t get here without hard work. I am here because I deserved to be here. I am here because they saw something in me.

The root cause of all this is that I am afraid.  Afraid of losing what I have. Afraid of not being enough. Afraid of failure. I am operating from a wrong disposition:fear.

It used to work out fine when I was new in the industry, because I wasn’t afraid. I had nothing to lose. I was eager to learn from everyone else around me. But now, I’m getting proud and afraid. Two very dangerous things.

So now, I stop being afraid. And just learn to trust myself. Learn. Keep in mind that I am here to learn and that I really don’t have anything to lose. I just need to get over myself, work well with other people, and give it my best shot. Instead of waking up and wondering “how have I messed up yesterday? Or  I should have done this or I shouldn’t have done that.”I should start everyday asking myself “how can I be greater than yesterday? Or what will life teach me today? Or how will I have fun and enjoy this day?”

Everyday is a new day. A chance to start anew. Smile. Be thankful. Expect great things. Attract good things.

One thought on “Worried

  1. Yes tama ka Myles. Don’t be afraid. Be your very best always at malamang laging maayos ang work mo kung love mo iyon. Ang buhay ay punong-puno ng aral. Magiging masaya ka lalo na at nagawa mo ang very best sa araw na iyon. At tama ang sabi mo tuloy-tuloy lang para harapin ang bagong araw ng punong-puno ng pag-asa na mgagampanan mo iyon.

    Naalala ko tuloy iyong dati kong work sa isang control center. Make or break ang mga chances na pwedeng mangyari…pero very satisfying at masaya kapag ang mga trabho ay hinaharap ng tamang disiplina at attitude plus syempre kakambal nito ang sapat na kaalaman sa work. For almost 30 years ako sa work na ito at sa awa ng Diyos ay masaya akong di nangyari ang aking kinatatakutan…dahil siguro ay hinaharap ko sila at tunay na laging kalakip ang dalangin,

    God Bless!

Leave a comment... :)

