New Year, New Me!

There are so many things that happened in my life last year that I don’t really know where to start. The major event – literally life changing – that happened last year was getting married to my man, Derek. Now I have an unofficial new name – Mylene Sereno Beasley. It’s unofficial because I didn’t work on the paperwork yet. Not even in my company’s records. It’s only reflected in Facebook.

When I was single, I often read about women who didn’t change their last names when they get married and I thought, ‘Why?’ I didn’t understand why women would opt to retain their last names after getting married. Are they scared that they might have to change back to their maiden names if the relationship doesn’t work out? Questions like this popped in my mind. But now, I understand why. Here are some of my reasons why I haven’t changed my last name yet – or thinking against it:

1. I have been single for too long. Sounds funny but what I mean is, a lot of people know me by my maiden name. My blog is even named mylenesereno. I just don’t want to confuse people.

2. I am staying here in Texas on an H1-B visa. So I have to update my passport, visa, etc if I have to work on this name change. Hmm.. I am not really sure what the process is. I still need to research about it. But I get stressed just thinking about all those paperwork. But I know I need to do it anyway. I know I am just procrastinating right now.. oh well.

3. I am uninformed. I still need to gather enough information about all the work to be done. I don’t know if it really needs to be done. What are the advantages? Disadvantages?

Well of course, I want to honor my husband by carrying his name so I’m going to go through all this trouble anyway.😀

Leave a comment... :)

