Pregnancy Diaries: Yeast Infection

I was hoping my appetite will be back now that I’m already on my second trimester.  But nope,  even on my 14th week,  I still don’t enjoy eating. 😦

But I’m glad that I finally got rid of the yeast infection that was bothering me for months. A month before I got pregnant,  I was already suffering from the infection. Doctor Summers prescribed Fluconazole. It helped for a while but it came back a month after I found out I was pregnant.  I didn’t do anything about it because I was scared that it might affect the baby.  The nurse also told me that she would recommend treating it during the second trimester.

But oh boy, it got worse and worse with each passing week! I was miserable and I would cry.  My husband got so worried and wanted me to call my OB. But I was too lazy and always told myself that I’m almost gonna see my doctor in a few days. Finally my appointment came for my 12th week of pregnancy and was able to tell the doctor about my misery.  She took a look at it and confirmed it was yeast infection.  She felt sorry for me because it looked really,  really irritated and she knew that I was very uncomfortable. She told me that I shouldn’t have let myself suffer too much and buy Monistat 7 as soon as possible. And I don’t have to worry about the baby because it is totally safe. And that I need to make sure to buy the 7day pack.

We bought the medicine right away and my goodness,  it itched like crazy!  Like never before!  I wanted to cry! That feeling lasted for I think an hour! Hubby tried to help and soothe me by giving me an ice pack.  I read the box and lots of comments online and everyone is saying that it is a normal reaction and they experienced a similar side effect. Good thing the itchy feeling went away and I got to sleep in peace.  The following nights were a lot better.  I didn’t have that itchy feeling anymore. And now 2 weeks after,  I feel great! I can’t believe I put myself in misery for that long. Thank you Monistat 7!

image

By the way,  the highlight for my doctor’s visit at 12 weeks is that we got to listen to or little jedi’s heartbeat!  It sounded like galloping horses! Made me tear up a bit.🙂

Leave a comment... :)

