Condo design ideas

Today I had the chance to just  laze up in my bedroom and spend some quality me-time with my lappy. So I used this time to search for design ideas for the condo unit that I reserved at Avida Centera a week ago. I decided to buy a condo unit instead of a house and lot because after living in a condo for more than a year already, I realized that I love urban living and right now (and maybe 10 years from now), this will really suit my lifestyle. I really hate commuting and traffic that’s why a house and lot in the province isn’t so enticing for me. After all, all throughout my life, I never experienced travelling for almost an hour to and from my school or office. So I’d willingly trade a few pesoses for my convenience and comfort.

I have been wondering how I would design my 23 sq m studio unit in Avida so that I could easily lure guests to stay for a night at my “condotel”. I’m planning to turn this unit into a condotel as an investment so that people from Mangagoy or Gensan or Davao or Cebu… who’ll want to stay in Manila for a couple of days will be able to have the comfort and the accessibility to the areas they need to go to. Centera is located along EDSA and is just a few steps away from Boni MRT station, and a ride away from SM Megamall, Galleria, Trinoma, hmm..practically anywhere! It’s located at the heart of Metro Manila so it’s really accessible… The turnover will still be in 2015 – 3 years from now! But I’m already soooo excited to dress up my very own condo unit. 🙂

So I googled and read lots and lots of blogs and articles on maximizing small condo unit space and having function meet “fashion” in interior designing. And the ideas I got from IKEA and mydesignfolder.com were really A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Here are some pics that I borrowed from their sites:

IKEA’s living room with loft bed – suitable for a young family.
From IKEA: The loft bed…this one is the view on top of the previous pic.  Nice idea, don’t you think? With a curtain for more privacy. 😉
From http://mydesignfolder.com: A queen-sized bed and shelves near the ceiling. More storage for my books! Yay!
From http://mydesignfolder.com: A sofa during the day…
From http://mydesignfolder.com: A bed at night… with cabinets for storage at the top to maximize space..
From http://mydesignfolder.com A slim dining table can save lots of space. But I’d prefer a glass top to create an illusion of a bigger space

I learned that for interior designing of condo units, you have to keep in mind the following:

1. Choose furniture wisely. Measure their dimensions and choose those that are multi-purpose like a sofa bed – a sofa during the day and a bed at night, or a lounge with a storage area beneath it and storage bins that can serve as chairs.

2. Make use of your vertical space. You can install cabinets/shelves up to the ceiling to maximize space. But don’t overdo it so that your condo won’t look like a big storage room.

3. Paint the room with monochromatic or earthly shades because they can bring more depth and create an illusion of a bigger room. Make use of lights and mirrors too.

4. Use furniture or tables with wheels so that you can easily move them from one are to another, as needed. Also, choose those with glass tops so that the room will look bigger.

5. Choose a theme and plan ahead! 😉

Author: Mylene

Disclaimer: My postings reflect my own views and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer, Accenture. I'm proud to be Filipina and a Bisaya. I am dedicated, motivated, and results-driven. I am an Aries. Bullheaded. Stubborn. I am a leader. I am a software engineer. I am a child of God. I am living and loving life! :) Leave a comment and subscribe!

22 thoughts on “Condo design ideas”

  1. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
    If you know of any please share. Kudos!

    1. Hi there!

      I’m currently not using any plugins for my site since I could not customize this – it’s just a free version of WordPress. Anyway, I guess one tip I can give you to improve your SEO is to use the words that people would search in your posts. Also, put those words as tags in your post. Hope this helps! 🙂

    1. Thanks Jes! 🙂
      Yep, you’re very much welcome to stay in my place pohon… mangayo pud kog inputs sa inyo especially kay c Royce naka work na sa mga world class hotels. Dream man gud nako maka put up ug mini hotel.. hehe.. or bisag condotel lng sa. Starting with my first condo. Char! Nangarap jud noh nga naa pay musunod nga mga condo..hehe.. Dream big, kapamilya! Ingon ni Lord naa daw sya plans to prosper us so go go sago! hahaha… See you soon Jes! Ayo2 mo diha.. with Zeke 😉

      1. Hi Ate, me too.. my future house if we can already afford one will look like a hotel hahaha.. but mini version.. classy ang style and one of a kind dapat. lol..anyway te follow sab ko sa akoa blog be.. haha I am trying my best. lol trying har blogger. hahaha. misho! na enjoy ko basa sa muha blog sa pag visit sa imoha parents sa manila 🙂

      2. uyy.. really Jes? Nag balik na kag blog? Do you know that you were one of the people who motivated me to blog? hehe.. la ka kabalo ana noh? I used to read your blogs katong sa friendster pa ka ga blog..haha.. and i loved reading your stories. 🙂

      3. hahaha, funny te.. maulaw ko kay my sister and cousins teased me pag mag blog ko or mag sulat ko mao i stop it for awhile. Di ko ganahan kanchawan murag ako laha clow. hahaha. well anyway ni balik ko kay dre at least, walay kaau makabasa.

      4. haha…bitaw, naa jud times nga murag mkahadlok na mag post kay basin unsa isipon sa mga tao. especially katong mga close sa ato.
        kaya medyo discreet ug cryptic akong mga posts usahay. hehe…
        especially pag join nako diri sa company, careful na kaau ko sa pag blog kay basin naa ko masulti nga confidential. bawal man gud.
        unlike atong naa pa ko sa university nga free kaayo magsulti bisan unsa…

      5. Welcome te, yes grabie ko ka happy supper happy.. all my hardships are paid off and now i have lots of reasons to keep going.. for the better of my family :-).. medyo g ubo sya kay change weather dre 😦 but everything is fine.. si mama and papa gi laay di man cla maka gawas2 gud hehehe naa ra cla perminte sa flat ga limpyo ug bantay apo lol.. pero nan laag mi yesterday malling.. gi pang kapoy cla hehe.

  2. Hey, I recently bought a unit near Boni MRT station! Same turnover year too! I look forward to reading posts about maximizing condo space… so far, ikea is my number 1 idea source… and their catalog is free online. Thanks for this!

  3. Hi Karen,

    You’re welcome! I’m glad that you’ve read my posts on condo design ideas. I’ve been reading Real Living and Condo Living magazines for inspirations on condo interior designs. Although I’d recommend the former. It’s got lots of good pieces of advice on how to maximize small spaces. 🙂

    Cheers!

  4. I think this is one of the most vital info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on
    few general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really
    excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  5. hi 🙂

    may i know how was it? ur plan of having it converted to condotel.. i am actually on the same page as you were when u were writing this blog.. 🙂

    so i’m really curious how was the turn-over and how much did it cost you for the renovation.. it would be great if you respond to my queries..

    you shld be so happy nowadays as you finally have your condo for ur investment..

    best regards dear! thanks!

    🙂

    1. Hi there Lili! @lili_wanag!

      I’m glad to know that you have the same plans as mine. The turnover of the condo was delayed so right now I’m just really waiting for it.

      My husband and I are thinking of selling it because we are currently residing outside the Philippines and it would be hard to monitor the condo unless I can find someone trustworthy and reliable enough who can take care of my business.

      If we don’t sell it, I’m definitely gonna rent it out so I believe I would have to set aside not less than 200K, I believe, for the renovation and furnishing of the condo.

      To be totally honest, I’m really hoping to get rid of the condo because it’s been really stressful for me to take care of securing the bank loan, now that I’m not in the Philippines.

  6. hi,if you want to have trustwothy person then i can recommend my friend..she’s incharge to my rental condo sa Manila..handling keys and meeting the guests upon arrival..email me so i can communicate with you..i live outside Philippines as well.

    1. Thanks Athan! I’m almost a year late in replying to you, life happened.. 🙂
      Taking care of my baby, career and family.
      Anyway, I already sold my condo back to Ayala.
      It’s considered a loss but at least I got my money back, all of it. Though it seems like I just lent them my money without interest, I just think of it as a learning experience on investing money.
      I didn’t want to think any more about it plus I really needed money for our expenses here.
      But thanks for trying to help me out!

Leave a comment... :)